Robert Farrell: Philly Local Barber Celebrates 50 Years Cutting Hair

by Stephen Maiale

Running his business out of a small hole-in-the-wall barbershop in the suburban sprawl outside Philadelphia, Robert Farrell celebrates his 50th year running his own business in 2018. Farrell has been servicing locals with his extraordinarily experienced clipping from age 18 to 71 years old, learning the trade from his father. Farrell relates that, “My father got us by through cutting and trimming in his own barbershop. He taught me all he could so that when I took over in 1968 I was prepared to start paying my dues to him, and then start a family of my own.” Farrell currently boasts a loving family for himself, with a wife, 2 daughters, and their 2 grandkids (with a third on the way). Farrell comments that “It wasn’t always easy to make a living with what I’ve been bringing in as a barber, but we have a lot of love for each other in our family which helped us stick it out through the rougher times.” Now, Farrell is still working as a barber, and according to him, he’s not ready to retire yet: “I’ve been trimming the hair of some of these regulars for decades. They come to me, and trust only me, to get their hair just the way they like it. I don’t wanna leave them hanging just yet.”

Farrell’s Barbershop does cutting, trimming, and shaving for all people and ages, whether they be man, woman, child, elder, etc. Still, his regulars seem to be largely composed of the middle aged men in the local area. Among these customers, Farrell’s has an outstanding reception with little to no complaints about his customer service. Drew Serra, a 23 year old regular at the barbershop, says that “Mr. Farrell was the first barber my parents took me to for a haircut. His shop was just a walk down the street from us, and I always loved going to get a haircut from him because he’d give candy to the kids after. I don’t get the candy anymore, but I still always come to Mr. Farrell for his great cuts.” If you’re looking for a genuinely experienced hand to give you a haircut and some good conversation too, then check out Farrell’s near Broomall before the old hardworker Robert Farrell decides 50 years was enough for him.

Leave a comment